Wednesday, October 31, 2007

History of Tenpin Bowling in Malaysia
Bowling was introduced into Malaysia in 1961 when the first bowling centre called "International Bowl" was set up in Penang. In 1965 three more centres were set up one in Perak and two in Selangor. At about the same time, the Malaysian Tenpin Bowling Congress (MTBC) was established under the Presidency of Raja Kamaruddin Udar. The Presidency subsequently changed hands twice between 1965 to 1970 with Murad Hashim and Benny Yeoh as successors.
Early HistoryIn 1970 Malaysia had its first overseas success when it took the Asian bowling fraternity by storm capturing eight gold medals out of nine at the Asian FIQ Championships in Hong Kong. The members of the team then were Johnny Kim, Allan Lee, Allan Hooi, O.B. Lim, Patrick Soh and Y.K. Thong. Undoubtedly their success brought fame to the country and gave bowling a tremendous boost. Malaysia consolidated its position as one of the top Asian Bowling powers when Allan Hooi won the Asian Masters title twice in 1971 and 1972, giving more impetus to the development and popularity of the sport.
Mind you all these successes were substantially the result of a few dedicated individuals pulling together and working on their own to test their skills in the international arenas rather than a Government sponsored, Congress motivated series of activities.
New Leadership and Governing Body: MTBC '74Expectedly therefore this new found reputation could not be sustained. The individual efforts however fervent could not go forward. The MTBC lacked dedicated leaders in numbers. The few pioneers that began the Sport tried their best but given the lack of funds and the shortage in human resources the Congress went into deregistration in 1973. The rut was only temporary as the following year, Dato' Dr. P.S. Nathan who was also a keen competitive bowler then, took over the helm. He revived the Congress and Malaysian Bowling by renaming it MTBC '74 and then set out to write its Constitution, its Playing Rules and Regulations, which stand to this very day, and then proceeded to get it affiliated to the OCM and subsequently to the World Governing body of Tenpin Bowling then known as FIQ.
Its Tournament organizational capabilities are second to none, having successively hosted the SEA Games (thrice), the Asian Bowling Championships, the AMF world Cup, the first World Tenpin Team Cup, the Commonweal Games Tenpin Bowling event, 28 successive annual Malaysian International and Malaysian National closed Tenpin Bowling championships and most latterly the 15th World Tenpin Bowling Championships whereat MTBC was declared by unanimous acclamation as the best organizer of World Bowling Championships and the Championship itself the best ever in its 52 year history.
Other accolades are:AWARDS:
Shalin Zulkifli voted World Bowler of the Year 1994 by the World Bowling Writers Association.
Shalin Zulkifli voted Asian Bowler of the Year 2000, 2001& 2002.
Winner of the National Sportsman and Sportswoman of the year 12 times - 1979 (Koo Boo Jin & Shirley Chow), 1985 (Michael Chuah), 1990 (Lydia Kwah), 1991 (Lisa Kwan), 1993 (Lisa Kwan), 1994 (Shalin Zulkifli), 1995 (Sharon Low), 1996 (Shalin Zulkifli), 1997 (Shalin Zulkifli), 2001 (Shalin Zulkifli) & 2002 (Shalin Zulkifli).
Best Women's Team of the year 1996 and 2003.
Best Men's Team of the year 1979 and 2003.
Man of the Year Award - (MTBC'74) by New Straits Times - 1996ACHIEVEMENTS:
World Championships - 2 Gold, 5 Silver, 1 Bronze
World Tenpin Team Cup - 2 Gold, 2 Bronze , 4th placing 4 times
World Tenpin Masters - 1 Gold
World Ranking Masters - 1 Silver
AMF Bowling World Cup - 2 Silver, 3 Bronze, 4th placing 3 times
Commonwealth Games - 2 Gold, 1 Silver, 1 Bronze
Asian Games - 5 Gold, 3 Silver, 6 Bronze
Asian Championships - 6 Gold, 16 Silver, 13 Bronze
SEA Games - 33 Gold, 36 Silver, 33 Bronze
World Youth Championships - 3 Gold, 5 Silver, 4 Bronze
Asian Youth Championships - 10 Gold, 12 Silver, 9 Bronze
Asian School Championships - 28 Gold, 20 Silver, 18 Bronze & 4 times overall country champion
Quo Vadis?
Such excellence at competition,
Such eminence at local and international administrative leadership,
Such impeccable competence at competition organization at all levels.
Where do we go from here?
We will march on. Tread the very same well trodden and proven path, bite the bullet when and if necessary, strain every sinew and fibre in our Council members, all to cling on to this all round inimitable excellence which was never easy to achieve and which will be even more difficult to emulate.

1 comment:

ichimiki said...


I love your site, It is a pleasure to visit.

I have added your site to my site.

Please link my site to your site.

Thank you!